Well Here it Goes

March 22, 2008
So I’ve been contemplating doing this for a few months now and after getting over the sting of being rejected by multiple grad schools I figure that it is time to finally get back on the horse and start doing something that I enjoy again. It has become the conventional wisdom during this recession that writing about one’s interests can be therapeutic, and possibly even a productive method towards dealing with this economic maelstrom. Our former President and his cronies have plunged my generation towards a mighty abyss of uncertainty, and perhaps a little reflection from amateur pundits can put the larger situation into perspective .

I’m starting this blog with the intent of coalescing my thoughts into a series of reasonably well constructed (and perhaps even interesting)  posts  that will address the various political and social realities within the United States and throughout the world. In the past I was a reasonably successful opinion writer for the alternative newspaper at my alma mater (Brandeis). My career highlight came with angering Professor Alan Dershowitz of Harvard to the point of a near conniption when I pointed out in an article that he was an egotistical jackass. Sure, pissing of the irrepressible Dershowitz was not exactly difficult, but it got me my fifteen minutes. 

I graduated Cum Laude in may of 2008, and even gave the graduation address at the ceremony for the African and African American Studies Department. Now I’m a warehouse worker. But I still know my way around secondary source material and my bullshit detector is still functioning. Given these facts I know I am able to write, splice, and perhaps even effectively criticize some of the lamer examples of citizen/professional journalism and supposedly good governance. Seeing that these two institutions form the cornerstones of our democracy (and the fact that most of the rest of the world tacitly looks towards our flawed nation as the best example of  how to create a successful society) it is our job as individuals to always remain at least inquisitive and at most cynical about the intent and capability of our leaders in effectively shaping our collective futures. And maybe I just need something to do. Nevertheless I am going to keep on writing and keep on publicizing this little space on the web until I make something of myself – so If anybody is planning on reading this, expect many updates.

 

img_06142

About stefanbc

I am an attorney who works mainly in criminal defense, child welfare, and medical marijuana advocacy. I live in Long Beach with my wife and four pets. View all posts by stefanbc

Leave a Reply

