Your Horrible Jackass Of The Day: Louis Gohmert

Is your congressman learning?

Oh goodie, America’s most horrific lunatic Congressman not named Michelle Bachmann, has him some opinions about the shooting in Colorado and stuff:

“Some of us happen to believe that when our founders talked about guarding our virtue and freedom, that that was important,” he reportedly said. “Whether it’s John Adams saying our Constitution was made only for moral and religious people […] Ben Franklin, only a virtuous people are capable of freedom, as nations become corrupt and vicious they have more need of masters. We have been at war with the very pillars, the very foundation of this country.”

“You know what really gets me, as a Christian, is to see the ongoing attacks on Judeo-Christian beliefs, and then some senseless crazy act of a derelict takes place,” Rep. Gohmert lamented.

Congressman Terror Baby was interrupted by the person interviewing him from the Heritage Foundation, as that clown college of a think tank should probably avoid this sort of insanity if they want to be cited in future Supreme Court cases.

Istook then reportedly interrupted to clarify for the audience that the motivations of alleged Aurora gunman James Holmes remains unknown. Rep. Gohmert conceded that fact but reportedly went on to suggest the shootings were “a terrorist act” that could have been avoided if the country hadn’t lost its faith in God.

“People say […] where was God in all of this?” the congressman said. “We’ve threatened high school graduation participations, if they use God’s name, they’re going to be jailed […] I mean that kind of stuff. Where was God? What have we done with God? We don’t want him around. I kind of like his protective hand being present.”

Well that didn’t work for Mr. Istook. Luckily Gohmert got back on message and worked to strengthen his 100% NRA rating:

Rep. Gohmert also said the tragedy possibly could have been avoided if someone else in the movie theater had been carrying a gun and was able to take down the shooter. Colorado law allows for the concealed carry of a firearm. “It does make me wonder: With all those people in the theater, was there nobody that was carrying a gun that could have stopped this guy more quickly?” he asked

I am so fucking tired of this dumbass argument. The fact that our first response to somebody using an assault rifle to mow down a crowd of moviegoers, or an extended clip Glock to shoot a congresswoman, is to “arm more people” is so senseless and emblematic of what is wrong with this country and its concept of wrath that I just get depressed thinking about it. So in lieu of listing every way in which this muddled idea is wrong, I’ll just point everyone in the direction of this man’s story from last year’s Tucson Massacre:

 “I came out of that store, I clicked the safety off, and I was ready,” he explained on Fox and Friends. “I had my hand on my gun. I had it in my jacket pocket here. And I came around the corner like this.” Zamudio demonstrated how his shooting hand was wrapped around the weapon, poised to draw and fire. As he rounded the corner, he saw a man holding a gun. “And that’s who I at first thought was the shooter,” Zamudio recalled. “I told him to ‘Drop it, drop it!’ ”

But the man with the gun wasn’t the shooter. He had wrested the gun away from the shooter. “Had you shot that guy, it would have been a big, fat mess,” the interviewer pointed out.

Zamudio agreed: “I was very lucky. Honestly, it was a matter of seconds. Two, maybe three seconds between when I came through the doorway and when I was laying on top of [the real shooter], holding him down. So, I mean, in that short amount of time I made a lot of really big decisions really fast. … I was really lucky.”

About stefanbc

I am an attorney who works mainly in criminal defense, child welfare, and medical marijuana advocacy. I live in Long Beach with my wife and four pets. View all posts by stefanbc

One response to “Your Horrible Jackass Of The Day: Louis Gohmert

Leave a Reply

