Using Christina Hendricks To Get My Point Across

Yesterday I was reading something on the internet and I stumbled across Mad Men star and demigod Christina Hendricks advertising my favorite brand of blended scotch. I posted the picture on my facebook page (because it was incredible) and made a joke about how “subtle” the ad was.

What quickly became apparent is that this post garnered way more attention that virtually anything else that I do here on the internets, this blog included. While I might spend hours constructing some (hopefully) cogent argument in favor of increased social safety spending, most people understandably ignore it in favor of some new adorable cat video. Being tuned out by a bored audience is the painful reality of just being one blogger in a sea of other idiots with strong opinions.

In that spirit however I have a new idea. Like Dave Chappelle discovered almost 10 years ago, a sometimes harsh or unpopular opinion becomes infinitely more palatable if the message is delivered by a pretty white girl. As there is no prettier white girl currently in the popular zeitgeist than Ms. Hendricks, I am going to use that same picture from yesterday to express a few things that need to be said. I am confident that this is a more efficient use of my time that writing 2,000 word diatribes about the evils of PRWORA.

About stefanbc

I am an attorney who works mainly in criminal defense, child welfare, and medical marijuana advocacy. I live in Long Beach with my wife and four pets. View all posts by stefanbc

4 responses to “Using Christina Hendricks To Get My Point Across

Leave a Reply

